SPQR

SPQR

(The image above stands for “The Senate and People in Rome” in English.) The Roman Empire has given much influence on our own society. We have learned from their rights and wrongs have applied their tribulations to promote our society. The cultural weight and military power of the (Western) Roman Empire was unmatched for hundreds of years before the inevitable collapse in 476 A.D.

(image via senatus-populusque-romanus)

2 comments on “SPQR

  1. sooxiah says:

    I really found your discourse community to be interesting! The only suggestion or advice I may have for this post is that it would be helpful to tell us what SPQR stands for and what it is. I had to google it to find out although I had an idea of what it may have been. It’s always nice to explain because not everyone know what that means. (Also especially because this is the header of your page).
    By the way, nice choice of color for your background!

  2. marsh145 says:

    Tim, I like how you mention that the Roman Empire has had an influence on how society is shaped today and I like your use of a picture. However, there are a few things I would like more information on. What does the acronym in the picture stand for and how does it relate to your topic? Also I think it would be great if you could give an example of a significant “right or wrong” of the Roman Empire that you find interesting in order to give your viewers a better picture of how their actions have effected society today. I think both of these changes would help your post come full circle.

Leave a comment